Posted by Jennifer van der Kleut and Jason Spencer
It's probably a good time to make sure your car's license plates are securely attached and your registration and tags are up-to-date.
Fairfax County this month formally instituted a No Plate Tax and penalty, which means failure to properly display Virginia license plates within 30 days of buying a new vehicle or moving one here from out of state will cost you $350.
The change went into effect Wednesday, a day after receiving approval from the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors. Elected officials essentially sharply increased the previous fee of $100.
The No Plate Tax "applies to vehicles that are normally garaged or parked in Fairfax County and are subject to Virginia’s vehicle licensing laws," according to a news release.
The tax is a local charge authorized by state law, the release states.
For questions about the No Plate Tax, click here. You can also email firstname.lastname@example.org or call the Fairfax County Department of Tax Administration at 703-222-8234.
For more information on Virginia vehicle licensing requirements, visit the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.
Click here for more Fairfax County tax information.
Servicemen and servicewomen and active duty personnel may be eligible for exemptions to certain taxes. Click here for information.